New French/Belgian Horror To Look Out For

1: CUB (Welp)
IMG_6932.PNG
Been looking forward to seeing this for quite some time. I’ve seen a trailer, and I was really impressed, but I had no idea what they were saying as there was no subs. I don’t mind though, it still felt extremely atmospheric and creepy.

The story seems to be about a group of cub-scouts who are out camping. They all seem to be quite young, definitely not older than 15 yrs of age. Anyways, they’re doing what cub-scouts do, dressed in uniform, singing songs by a campfire, eating marshmallows and telling each other scary stories.

IMG_6934.JPG
What they don’t realise, is that it’s more than likely their last night on earth. Some mad little jungle-kid is watching their every move, he is like a demented version of Mowgli from The Jungle Book. The kid has obviously had no contact with the outside world. He was probably brought up with a pack of wolves, his hands look pretty fucking strange, so he could be love child of some horny old man and a wolf, who knows? Growing up in the woods or jungle obviously has it’s benefits, I’m pretty sure the CUB got some pretty impressive jungle DIY weaponry. One thing is clear, he’s planning to take-down every single one of them.

IMG_6935.JPG
I’m pretty sure this is the first feature length from writer/director Jonas Govaerts. The reviews have been really good so far, and this being Belgian/French, I’m hoping it’s gonna be pretty damn hardcore.

IMG_6640.JPG
9: ALLELUIA (from a previous post)
New film from acclaimed director Fabrice du Welz. Another man who I’m a huge fan of and is responsible for one of my favourite horror/survival/hillbilly movies CALVAIRE. When I first heard that he was back on the scene with a new movie, I just knew we were in for something special.

This film has cleaned up at any festivals that it has played in. Winning awards all across the board like Best Film, Best Actor, Best Director…. the list goes on.

IMG_6639.JPG
Another film that I purposely know nothing about. I can tell you that’s it’s based on a true story of real-life serial-killers who were known as The Honeymoon Killers. Personally, I’ve never even heard of them, and although, I wanna google the shit out them, I’m gonna resist and leave it up to Fabrice du Weiz to tell me this tale of terror.

Years back when I first seen his film CALVAIRE, I was blown away by how different he made a very similar premise feel. He took your basic survival horror which at-the-time was overpopulated with a about 50 Wrong Turn movies releasing each year. The film wasn’t insanely gruesome but it most definitely hit a nerve. It also features one of the most fucked up pieces of piano music that I’ve ever heard.

3: AMONG THE LIVING

IMG_6939.JPG
This is the third instalment from the guys who brought us INSIDE and LIVIDE. The film was listed for released in 2013, which will give you a rough estimate on how long I’ve been following the fucking thing. If a movie is down for release in 2013, And I’ve got my sights on it, then you can be certain that I’ve been following this the film since early pre-production. Sometimes the wait is almost unbearable, and then to tops it off, I live in fucking Ireland, and the chance of us getting to see any sort of french horror on the big-screen is almost non-existent.

I’m a huge fan of these guys, these dudes played a huge part in restoring my faith in the horror genre. The main thing that attracted me to the film was the cast. They seem to have an all-child cast, I’m not sure how the story will unfold. Maybe they are just young at the start and then the story will fast-forward to when they are adults. I’m not sure, and I’d like to leave that element of surprise until I watch it. Having a bunch of kids fight for survival against some deranged serial-killer sounds great, and I don’t think I’ve seen it in the horror genre before. I am almost certain that this film will be just as brutal as INSIDE and LIVIDE. I just feel ashamed that I haven’t got round to seeing it yet.

IMG_6940.JPG

I also wrote a little about their next project in one of my previous posts if you want to check it out. They are apparently the guys who will bring us THE TEXAS CHAINSAW prequel LEATHERFACE. I also didn’t know, but I wrote a little about how I compare them to Martyrs director Pascal Laugier. I wasn’t aware that they were also offered the HELLRAISER reboot. I was delighted to learn that they left the project for the exact same reasons Laugier did… creative differences with the production companies.

I salute you gentlemen.

Leave a Reply

