The News THE STAND Fans Have Been Waiting For

The Stand is a remake that I want to happen. I’m not usually a fan of remakes but sometimes, they get it right. I think that the story for The Stand is way more fitting in this day-and-age than it was back in the the nineties when it was first released.

It’s no secret that the project has been in development-limbo for years. They knew they wanted to make the movie, but I think they underestimated exactly how much detail and plot was in the story, not to mention, the commitment that would be required for any actor or director who agreed to take-on the project.

Anyone who visits my site regularly will know that I’ve been trying to keep you all up-to-date with its progress. And every time I post about this movie on my Facebook page, there is always the same comments (from hardcore fans of the book). People always say that this film “is impossible to do without breaking it up into multiple movies.” And you know something?, there is no chance in hell that I’d argue with them because they are right!, it’s that simple.

The most recent news was that Josh Boone (Ben Affleck was previously attached) had written an impressive script that broke the story down and had a approx runtime of 3hrs. That still sounds like one hell of a film, but it still felt that the story couldn’t be told in its entirety.

I haven’t read the book, but I’ve seen the tv series, and I loved it. I actually watched the whole series again recently, and was pleasantly surprised at how well it had aged…… Ok I’ll retract that comment, Randall Flagg looked dodgy as fuck with his cowboy boots, mullet, completely suited out in his blue devil denim…. Plus… Mother Abigail is shite on the guitar… But the effects were impressive and the virus was still damn frightening!!

Josh Boone must have had one hell of a fucking script, man. Warner Bros has approached him and asked him would he do 4 films. It was reported that his 3hr feature-length was getting close to $90 million, so if they are prepared to do that that for each instalment then we could be looking at an estimated $360m project, and for a virus outbreak movie, that’s gonna be some high-end production value.

Here’s what Mr Boone said…
They came back and said “would you do it as multiple films?” and I said “fuck yes!” I loved my script, and I was willing to drop it in an instant because you’re able to do an even truer version that way. So I think we are going to do like four movies. I can’t tell you anything about how we’re going to do them, or what’s going to be in which movie. I’ll just say we are going to do four movies, and we’re going to do The Stand at the highest level you can do it at, with a cast that’s going to blow people’s minds.

More to follow as it’s announced!

Leave a Reply

